logo

 

The Chalk Garden

Description

An outdoor production of Enid Bagnold’s unique comedy that blends witty humor with insightful truths. Dyed-in-the-wool British dowager Mrs. St. Maugham is an eccentric with two obsessions: caring for her troubled teenage granddaughter and growing a traditional English garden in the harsh chalk soil of the surrounding grounds. When the mysterious Miss Madrigal, with her keen knowledge of gardening, is hired as a governess despite her lack of references, she brings along a dark secret.

Written by Enid Bagnold
Directed by Susan Angelo
Starring Carmen Flood, Ellen Geer, Willow Geer, William Dennis Hunt, Melora Marshall and Michael Nehring
Presented by Will Geer’s Theatricum Botanicum

Performances: June 30 – Sept. 30:
• Saturday, June 30 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, July 7 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, July 21 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, July 29 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, Aug. 5 at 8 p.m.
• Friday, Aug. 10 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, Aug. 18 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, Aug. 26 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, Sept. 1 at 8 p.m.
• Saturday, Sept. 8 at 4 p.m.*
• Sunday, Sept. 16 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, Sept. 23 at 8 p.m.
• Sunday, Sept. 30 at 4 p.m.
*Prologue (pre-show discussion):Saturday, Sept. 8 from 3 p.m.–3:30 p.m. (included in ticket price)

www.theatricum.com

Specific details

TITLE The Chalk Garden
WHEN June 30 – Sept. 30, 2018
HOW (310) 455-3723 or see link above
TICKETS Adults: $38.50 (lower tier); $25 (upper tier) Seniors (65+), Students, Military Veterans, Teachers, AEA Members: $25/$15 Children (5-15): $10 Children 4 and under: Free
OTHERS The outdoor amphitheaters at Will Geer’s Theatricum Botanicum are terraced into the hillside of the rustic canyon. Audience members are advised to dress casually (warmly for evenings) and bring cushions for bench seating. Patrons are welcome to arrive early and picnic before a performance.

Location


Will Geer’s Theatricum Botanicum 1419 N. Topanga Canyon Blvd. Topanga CA 90290 (midway between Pacific Coast Highway and the Ventura Freeway)